Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians: Match Preview

Posted by

IPL’s first Qualifier game will see Chennai Super Kings take on Mumbai Indians. Winner will progress to the final. While the loser will play Qualifier 2.

Mumbai won their last game against Kolkata Knight Riders. The win was down to brilliant performance from both Mumbai batsmen and bowler. They even managed to get Russell out for 0, the first time in the season.

Chennai Super Kings lost their last game to Kings XI Punjab. Their lower middle-order batsmen failed to get going that cost them around 20 runs. A blizzard opening start by KL Rahul and Gayle took the game away from them.


Chennai Super Kings – LWLWL

Chennai has been a bit inconsistent lately. They have lost three of their last five games and one of those defeats came against Mumbai. Watson’s poor form has been a cause of concern. Jadhav is expected to miss out this game due to his shoulder injury.

Mumbai Indians – LWLWW

Mumbai ended the league phase on a high note. They have been playing some great cricket throughout the tournament. Their only cause of concern is the no.4 spot in the batting order. Pandya brothers are in great form for Mumbai.


M A Chidambaram stadium, Chennai


Probable Lineups

Chennai Super Kings

 Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Dhruv Shorey, MS Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Deepak Chahar, Imran Tahir

Mumbai Indians

Quinton de Kock, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Myank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga

Key Player

MS Dhoni

Chennai’s lower middle-order struggles without their dependable captain. If he fails to perform with bat Chennai will end up 20-30 runs short of their total score. So, he will be an important key in today’s game.

Hardik Pandya

He has been a key reason behind Mumbai’s success this season. Lately, he has been handy with his bowling too. His death-overs hitting gives Mumbai edge over other opponents.

Best Fantasy Team

Keeper – de Kock

Batsmen – Rohit, du Plessis, Raina, Suryakumar

All Rounder – Hardik, Krunal, Bravo

Bowlers – Harbhajan, Tahir, Rahul Chahar


Leave a Reply