Kings XI Punjab vs Kolkata Knight Riders: Match Preview

Posted by

IPL’s match number 52 will see Kings XI Punjab hosting Kolkata Knight Riders. It’s a must-win game for both the sides to strengthen their hopes of qualifying for the next round.

Kings XI Punjab lost their last game against Sunrisers Hyderabad by 45 runs. A brilliant 56 balls 79 runs knock by KL Rahul went in vain. They are seventh in the points table with 10 points behind Kolkata on net run-rate.

Kolkata Knight Riders won their last game against Mumbai Indians by 34 runs. A blistering knock by Andre Russell earned him the Man of the Match against Mumbai. They are sixth in the points table with 10 points.


Kings XI Punjab – LWLLW

They have put in some below-par performances in the recent games. Recent form hasn’t been great either for Punjab. Chris Gayle has been quiet with his bat and death bowling has been for Punjab.


Kolkata Knight Riders – LLLLW

Kolkata finally ended their winless streak with a win over Mumbai. They have many out of form players. Russell has been their only star in all these games. When he struggles, the whole team suffers along. Batsmen need to put up a better show.


IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali

Probable Lineups

Kings XI Punjab

KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran, David Miller, Mandeep Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Murugan Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh, Mujeeb Ur Rahman.


Kolkata Knight Riders

Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Piyush Chawla, Sandeep Warrier, Harry Gurney

Key Player

Chris Gayle (KXIP)

One of the deadliest opener in the world. He will surely be a key for Punjab. It doesn’t matter if he is in form or not he can change the game in a matter of balls.

Andre Russell (KKR)

He has been this season’s star player. He will be key against Punjab and will look to continue his good form. Might also look to get close to the orange cap.

Best Fantasy Team

Keeper – Pooran

Batsmen – Gayle, N Rana, Gill, KL Rahul

All Rounder – Russell, Narine, R Ashwin

Bowler – Shami, P Chawla, Arshdeep


Leave a Reply