ICC World Cup: Srilanka Cricket team announced

Posted by

SriLanka Cricket team have been announced for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup. A day after it was announced Dimuth Karunaratne will lead the squad in the World Cup.

The Selectors also showed some faith in Kusal Mendis and Dhananjaya de Silva – despite the pair showing performance that matches their potential at the highest level. Isuru Udana’s batting performance during the South Africa series earned him his maiden World Cup call-up. Thisara Perera will be the second fast bowling all-rounder for the captain, Karunaratne.

The selectors have made some surprising calls with the inclusion of Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeevan Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay and Milinda Siriwardana in the 15-man preliminary squad.

Jeevan Mendis and Milinda Siriwardana will add further depth to the set-up – two spinning all-rounders who can be used as floaters in the batting line-up.


Dimuth Karunaratne (c)

Avishka Fernando

Lahiru Thirimanne

Kusal Perera (wk)

Kusal Mendis

Dhananjaya de Silva

Jeevan Mendis

Milinda Siriwardana

Angelo Mathews

Thisara Perera

Isuru Udana

Lasith Malinga

Suranga Lakmal

Jeffrey Vandersay

Nuwan Pradeep.


Oshada Fernando

Kasun Rajitha

Wanindu Hasaranga

Angelo Perera

Who missed out?

Niroshan Dickwella is the only main player who missed out from the Srilanka Cricket team for the World Cup next month. His poor recent form with the bat cost him his place in the squad.

What’s Next?

Srilanka will play two games against Scotland on May 18 and 21. Then they will play two warm-up games against South Africa and Australia. Their World Cup campaign will start against Newzealand on 1st June.


Leave a Reply