South Africa

ICC World Cup: South Africa Cricket team announced

Posted by

South Africa cricket team has been announced for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

The team will be lead by Faf Du Plessis. While Quinton De Kock is the only wicket-keeper selected in the squad. Selectors have also shown faith in Hashim Amla despite his mediocre form in recent months.

Dale Steyn will be the senior bowler. Bowling lineup also includes Rabada. who will be their key pacer. Ngidi has also been selected despite his injury, he is expected to be back fit by the time World Cup starts in England. South Africa have also picked Andile Phehlukwayo and Dwaine Pretorius as the two all-rounders in the World Cup squad.


Faf du Plessis(C)

JP Duminy

David Miller

Dale Steyn

Andile Phehlukwayo

Imran Tahir

Kagiso Rabada

Dwaine Pretorius

Quinton de Kock

Anrich Nortje

Lungi Ngidi

Aiden Markram

Rassie van der Dussen

Hashim Amla

Tabraiz Shamsi

Who Missed out?

All-rounder Wiaan Mulder and top-order batsman Reeza Hendricks have missed out from South Africa’s World Cup squad. There are no big names missing from the squad.


“We are very happy with the squad we have been able to put together and have every confidence in their ability to do our country proud at the World Cup,” CSA National Selection Panel convener Linda Zondi said.

“The fact that we have managed to win our last five series in a row in this format against Zimbabwe, Australia, Pakistan and Sri Lanka twice underlines the quality of the team that Faf will lead into the contest.

“The final selection is also the result of a very rigorous search we have conducted, leaving no stone unturned, to make sure that we have made the best use of the options available to us.”

What’s Next?

South Africa Cricket team will start their World Cup campaign against Bangladesh. They will be looking to drop their Chokers tag this time around.


Leave a Reply